CSS Class Of ’84 Continues To Assist Deserving Students

Charlestown-Nevis-Friday 6th July, was a significant day in the lives of ten deserving students across the island.

In a brief ceremony held at the St. Paul’s Anglican Church conference room, members of the Charlestown Secondary School’s class of 1984, made what has become their now annual presentation, in assisting deserving students from the graduating grade six classes, of the various Primary schools.

The ceremony was ably chaired by Mr. Emmanuel EDDY Caines Richards and commenced with prayer by Mr. David Griffin and the national anthem on pan, by Mr. Leroy Parris Jr.

Another member of the illustrious class, Mrs. Dahlia Bussue –Prentice, added her golden voice to the proceedings, in rendering two special items in song.

The feature address was delivered by the dapper, Mrs. Marjorie Liburd –Brandy, a former class teacher of the class of ’84.

She congratulated her former students in their continued efforts in assisting others and asked the children to use such opportunities to their benefit and to live meaningful lives.

She used a story of a boy who was a great athlete but who refused to practise for an important race, who was beaten by a lesser athlete who practised overtime, on the big day, as a guide for the students to note that hard work pays great dividends.

Representing the Ministry of Education, was Permanent Secretary, Mr. Kevin Barrett, who stated that the class of ’84 was only one class ahead of him at CSS and served as an inspiration for him to excel.

He advised the students to seek to emulate them, as they have all worked hard and have significant positions within the community.

The most anticipated moment came, when the students received their packages. This included a bag pack filled with goodies which included: Ten exercise books; one pack of folder leaves (150 sheets); 10 pencils; 10 pens; ruler; geometry set and an eraser.

They were presented with a certificate ad their gift bags by Principal Education Officer, Mrs. Palsy Wilkin, ably assisted by Mrs. Faith Bertie, of the class of ’84.

Ms. Diane Richardson also delivered an inspirational poem and Ms. Nathalie Hicks gave the response on behalf of the parents and indicated that they truly appreciated the fine gesture by the former CSS students.

Mrs. Susan Browne-Nisbett then presented the vote of thanks and this was followed by the serving of refreshments.

The awardees for 2018 are:

Rihanna Webbe-St. Thomas’ Primary

Jeran Webb- Charlestown Primary

Azaria Rivers-Maude Cross Preparatory

Dejonelle Perkins-Nevis Academy

Aiden Liburd-Montessori Academy

Timothy Fraser-Ivor Walters Primary

Kianna Liburd-Elizabeth Pemberton Primary

Yudel Wisdom-Joycelyn Liburd Primary

Emma Jeffers-St. James’ primary

Chadecia Hicks-Violet O. Jeffers Nicholls Primary

You might also like