Federal Government imposes travel restrictions from Ebola threat countries

Nevispages Reporter

(CHARLESTOWN, NEVIS)- With the serious threat of Ebola and considering the widespread and intense transmission of the Ebola Virus Disease, the Federal Government of the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis has made a decision to put in place travel restrictions. This statement was made in an announcement from the office of the Prime Minister on Wednesday night.

According to the release, persons from Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea will be prohibited from entering the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis until further notice. Prohibition will also be applied to travelers who have visited those countries within the past twenty one (21) days.

The statement also stated that the ‘Ministry of Health will closely monitor the situation in West Africa and other countries and will continue to work closely with regional and international partners to prepare for any potential threat’.

The release  indicated that the Federal Cabinet has also requested the activated National Disaster Mitigation Council to coordinate preparedness and response with health officials and to provide Cabinet updates.

St. Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines have also imposed similar travel restrictions on travelers from the three countries.

The Ebola Disease Virus has claimed thousands of lives mostly in West Africa.

You might also like