Former prime minister Denzil Douglas re-elected unopposed as Labour Party leader at 87th conference

By Erasmus Williams

Basseterre, St Kitts, May 20, 2019 – Former prime minister, the Right Hon Dr Denzil L Douglas has been re-elected to lead the St Kitts-Nevis Labour Party for another year.

Delegates endorsed Dr Douglas as the National Political Leader at the party’s 87th Annual National Conference on Sunday, 19th May at the St Kitts Marriott Resort and Royal Beach Casino.

All eight constituency branches of the Party submitted the name of Dr Douglas, the Parliamentary Representative for St Christopher 6 (Newton Ground to Harris’), who was first elected National Political Leader in 1989.

Delegates re-elected Hon Marcella Liburd, the Member of Parliament for St Christopher 2 (Central Basseterre), as Deputy Political Leader.
Dr Terrance Drew was re-elected as chairman; Diana Williams was re-elected to the post of Secretary and the new Assistant Secretary is Crios Freeman.
Nominated officers are Don Grant, Thamesha Fyfield, Mariette Williams and Nerys Chiverton.

Branch representatives on the National Executive are Paulette Ward-Caines, St Christopher #1; Curtis Francis, St Christopher 2; Zemone Morton, St Christopher 3′ Frederick Gillard, St Christopher 4; George Dixon, St Christopher 5 and Sandra Swanston, St Christopher 6.

Branches 7 and 8 as well as Young Labour and Labour Women are to submit the names of their representatives to serve on the Labour Party Executive shortly.

The business session for delegates was held in the morning and the public session took place in the afternoon.

Photo 1 with some executive officers – Seated (left to right) – Dr Denzil L Douglas, Marcella Liburd and Dr Terrance Drew. Standing (left to right) – Nerys Chiverton, Diana Williams, Crios Freeman, Thamesha Fyfield and Mariette Williams

Photo 2 with some candidates – Seated (left to right) – Dr Denzil L Douglas, Marcella Liburd and Dr Terrance Drew Standing (peft to right) – Dr Geoffrey Hanley, Leon Natta-Nelson, Diana Williams, Crios Freeman, Thamesha Fyfield, Mariette Williams, Kenny Douglas and Steve Wrensford

You might also like