Highlights Hawks Take Championship Honours in Local Tournament

The final of the Nagico super 40 tournament, was played at the ET Willet Park, on Saturday 6th July.

MVP of the tournament-Jamie Cornelius

The two top teams from the preliminary rounds, Empire Eagles and Highlights Hawks, engaged each other in a much anticipated contest.
The Empire Eagles won the toss and elected to bat first. They were dicely placed at one point, with the score on 82 for 5 but Kezron Archibald came in and swung mightily from the hip, to score a rapid 46 balls 50.
This served to add some measure of respectability to the total.
When the Highlights Hawks batted, they too lost wickets regularly, but the combination of Jamie Cornelius; Anan Bhim and Nelson Bolan, all added up to eventually overhaul the total and secure the coveted Nagico cup

Summarized scores: Empire Eagles 150 all out in 29.2 overs:
Kezron Archibald 50;
Adelvin Phillip 33;
Rohan Laborde 13;
Tewan Prentice 13
Anan Bhim 3 for 29;
Hakeem Harvey 3 for 35;
Nelson Bolan, Javani Tyson and Jamie Cornelius 1 wicket each

Highlights Hawks 153 for 7 from 23.4 overs:
Nelson Bolan 31;
Jamie Cornelius 28;
Anan Bhim 23;
Hakeem Harvey 16*
Kezron Archibald 5 for 52;
Adelvin Phillip 2 for 39

Highlights Hawks winning by 3 wickets
Kezron Archibald, man of the match.
A brief presentation ceremony was held at the end of the game and the following awards/notations were made:
MVPS throughout the tournament: Jamie Cornelius; Shelton Forbes; Junior Williams; Kezron Archibald; Adelvin Phillip; Alvin Hadyalal
MVP of the finals:
Kezron Archibald Most wickets- Shelton Forbes (12)
Man with the most runs and MVP for entire tournament-294 runs; 8 wickets; two half centuries and one century-Jamie Cornelius
Second placed team-Empire Eagles-received trophy named in honour of Elquemedo Willet and it was presented by Senaldo Willet, his daughter.
1st placed team-Highlights Hawks-trophy named in honour of Elquemedo Willet as well

You might also like