Ivor Walters Primary Knocks Defending Champs Out Of Primary Schools’ Finals

Defending champions, St. Thomas’ Primary, has been unceremoniously dumped out of this year’s Primary Schools’ Football finals.

This feat was accomplished by former champions, the Ivor Walters Primary, in the second semifinal match of the 2019 edition of the Education and Sports Departments’ Primary School Football tournament.  The action was at the ET Willet Park, on Friday 22nd November.

It was a hard-fought first half between the two teams and urged on by their respective supporters, the players made some stunning plays.  When some of the spectators were already talking about the game going to penalty kicks as a decider, as was the case with the first game, five minutes into the second half, the energetic Leon Thompson Jr aka “LJ,’ broke free on the right flank and bombed one home, from way crosstown.

Not more than a minute later, he again ran wide of a lethargic St. Thomas’ defence and peeled off another right booter, which seemed very much on target.  One of the St. Thomas’ defenders in his urgent haste to kick the ball out, inadvertently knocked it into his own goal, much to the chagrin of the many spectators and players themselves.  To their credit, the St. Thomas’ team fought tooth and nail in their endeavour to correct the situation, but it was simply a case of ‘too little, too late.’

The Ivor Walters team has therefore qualified for the grand finals, which is now set for this coming Thursday afternoon-28th November, at the ET Willet Park, versus the Charlestown Primary School.

Charlestown Primary (1) vs Elizabeth Pemberton Primary (1)
Charlestown Primary won (3 – 1) on penalties.

Goal scorers for Charlestown Primary
Kuwan Wilkin
Malik Freeman
N’ziah Skeete

Goal scorers for Elizabeth Pemberton Primary
Kamal Brandy
Aunri Persaud

Ivor Walters Primary (2) vs St. Thomas Primary (0)

Scorers for Ivor Walters Primary
Leon Thompson Jr
Michel Wilkin (own goal)

Top Scorers for the tornament
Joric Daniel (JLPS) ……………………14
Adrian Williams (STPS) ………………11
Leon Thompson Jr (IWPS)……………11

Third place game @ 1:30 St. Thomas Primary vs Elizabeth Pemberton Primary
Finals @ 2:30 Ivor Walters Primary vs Charlestown Primary


You might also like