Leeward Islands Masters Tournament Bowls Off

The 2019 edition of the Leeward Islands Masters’ Cricket tournament, officially bowled off, with the usual impressive opening ceremony, at the Jolly Beach Resort in Antigua, on the evening of Thursday 6th June.

Sir Curtly Mc Ginley Award-Masters cricket

The tournament which is in its 22nd year, was the brain child of outgoing President, Mr. Alkins Rogers of Anguilla, who originally conceived the idea and with a group of stalwarts, got the tournament going with an initial cast of three teams.
The tournament has grown in stature ever since.
Chairing the ceremony, was well known Leewards Islands Cricket icon, Vernon Springer.
Included in the ceremony were prayer by a local Pastor; welcome remarks by Elkanah Charles, president of the Antigua Masters’ Association and the feature address by Leeward Island’s Cricket chief, Enoch Lewis, who challenged the Masters’ cricketers, to help to bring Leewards cricket, back to the fore again, in terms of representation on the West Indies team, asking them to mentor and assist in every way possible, the upcoming cricketers in their respective territories.
He also officially declared the tournament open.

Sylvester Pemberton

Representatives of the competing teams, also got the opportunity to express the usual banter and ‘throw their usual threats’ as to who will walk away with the trophy.
Nevis’ Masters’ Association President, Franklyn KUT Daniel, pulled off the surprise of the evening, as during his remarks, he made surprise presentations of wonderfully designed trophies, to three stalwarts of Masters’ cricket in Nevis, throughout the years: Sylvester Pemberton; Derrick Parry and Eustace Johnson.
Not to be outdone, Anguilla and Antigua made similar presentations to the long serving LI President, Mr. Alkins Rogers and to Sir Curtly Mc Ginley of Antigua.
This year, the seven competing teams are:

Derrick Parry

Zone 1: Nevis-defending champions; Antigua & Barbuda and St. Maarten

Zone 2: St. Thomas; St. Croix; Anguilla and St. Kitts.

Games will be played at Macpond in All Saints and Ball Beef in Liberta.
Matches scheduled for today are as follows:
Friday 7th June:
Zone 1: Antigua & Barbuda v St. Maarten at All Saints-9 am
St. Maarten v Nevis at 2 pm –All Saints

Eustace Johnson

Zone 2: St. Croix v Anguilla at 9 am-Liberta
St. Thomas v St. Kitts- 12 noon-Liberta
St. Kitts v Anguilla -3.30 pm –Liberta


You might also like