Minister Evelyn Admonishes Team to Be True Ambassadors of Nevis

The Nevis under 19 Cricket team, left for Montserrat on Tuesday 26th June, in two separate contingents, via the PARADISE SUN.
One contingent, which was led by Coach Gerard TRINI Charles, left at 8 am while the other contingent, led by Manager, ‘KELLY’ Archibald, left at 2 pm.
Charles indicated that he is confident that his team will take top honours in the Leeward Islands under 19 tournament, which bowls off in Montserrat on Wednesday 27th June, with the clash of the giants, as Nevis engages Antigua and Barbuda.

He pointed to the fact that he has players who represented the Leewards under 19 tem last year and the lone Leewards’ representative to the West Indies under 19 team, Kian Pemberton.

Skipper Marcus Dubberry, who has had the experience of leading the Leewards under 15 team in a previous tournament, also exuded confidence and noted that he has a well-rounded team of players and stated that they will play as a team.
He also indicated that the selection of the final eleven may pose some problems for the selectors, but said that that is ‘a good headache to have.’

Present for the departure of the afternoon’s contingent, was Minister of Sports, Hon. Eric Evelyn, and he admonished the players to be great ambassadors for Nevis, on and off the field of play.

He stated that the Nevis Island Administration had invested in them in a significant way, taking care of transportation; accommodation and meals and that he expected great dividends for such investment. He was not only looking for the winner’s trophy on their return but also the highest number of selectees to the Leewards under 19 team and a good report that the team members conducted themselves properly.
Manager, KELLY Archibald briefly stated that he was taking ‘a bunch of talented individuals to Montserrat’ and he expected them to take the winner’s trophy and top honours.

Also on hand, was Director of Sports, Mr. Jamir Claxton, who wished the team well and also advised them to represent the island well.

Quite a number of the adoring parents and grandparents, were also present to see off the youthful cricketers.
The full Nevis team reads:

Marcus Duberry –capt; Tijari Clarke-v.capt; Kian Pemberton; Carlon Tuckett; Jelani Manners; Tiwan Prentice; Justin Anderson; Shevon Jeffers; Jaden Carmichael; Javian Barrett; Boognarine Sharma; Trishawn Francis; Naje Amory; Zario Chumney; Patrice Nisbett; Akadianto Willet; Ryan Solomon; Gyan Griffin and Darc Brown.

The manager is ‘Kelly’ Archibald and coach is Gerard TRINI Charles

You might also like