Premier’s X1 Gets The Better Of High Commissioner’s X1

The Australian High Commissioner to St. Kitts and Nevis, Mr. John Pilbeam, was obviously beaming with pride, as he had front row seating along with his wife, to witness an exciting Cricket match at the ET Willet Park.

The occasion?

The High Commissioner had previously made a donation of a substantial portion of Cricketing gear to the Sports Department of Nevis, courtesy of a special request made by Premier Mark Brantley.

Now the Commissioner was able to sit back and watch some of Nevis’ finest youth cricketers on show, utilizing some of the said equipment.

Among the other dignitaries on hand to witness the encounter, were Premier Mark Brantley and Mrs. Brantley; Minister of Sports, Hon. Eric Evelyn, Director of Sports-Mr. Jamir Claxton and Mr. Elquemedo Tonito Willet, the first Leeward Islander to make it into the prestigious West Indies senior Cricket team.

Despite a rain delay, the match was allowed to go for the full twenty overs per side.

The Australian High Commissioner’s X1 won the toss and Captain Boognarine Sharma elected to bat first.

They were off to a shaky start, as they lost the early wicket of Patrice Nisbett but Sharma teamed up with the exquisite looking Justin Amurdan in a 64 runs partnership, which helped to steady the ship.

They eventually got to 120 for 4 in their allotted 20 overs, with Amurdan getting an undefeated 61 not out and was helped in no small measure by a rapid 26 not out, by Leeward Islands female all-rounder, Saneldo Willet.

When the Premier’s X1 batted, Trishawn Francis was unfortunately run out, without facing a ball but Jelani Manners excited the crowd with his superb timing.

One particular shot, a huge six over midwicket, cleared the stand and landed in the road at Cedar Trees. It was described by some who saw it as ‘a big man shot.’

Enter Carlon Tuckett.

The dapper little right handed batsman took center stage and played some truly elegant shots, on his way to an undefeated half a ton, which took his team safely across the line in just 16.3 overs.

Mr. Pilbeam and Hon. Eric Evelyn featured during the presentation ceremony, as medals were presented to all of the players, complements of the High Commissioner and a grand trophy, which was given to the winning team.

Summarized scores: Australian High Commissioner’s X1: 120 for 4 in 20 overs: Justin Amurdan 61*; Saneldo Willet 26*; Bodgenarine Sharma 12

Carlon Tuckett 3 for 13; Trishawn Francis 1 for 12

Premier’s X1-123 for 2 in 16.3 overs: Carlon Tuckett 61*; Jelani Manners 24; Tijari Clarke 15*

Boognarine Sharma 1 for 28

The Premier’s X1 won by 8 wickets

Man of the match-Carlon Tuckett

You might also like