SKN introduces official postal code

NIA CHARLESTOWN NEVIS (October 17, 2016) — Mail delivery on Nevis and St. Kitts and Nevis will be more efficient with the introduction of an official postal code. It was launched on October 09, 2016, to coincide with the observance of World Post Day.

Rhonda Williams, Deputy Post Mistress on Nevis told the Department of Information in a recent interview, that the postal code also known as the Zip Code, is an essential element of a postal address and will allow quick sorting, accuracy and precise delivery.

“It is a unique identifier that unambiguously identifies an addressee’s location and assists in the transmission, sorting and delivery of mail items.

A postal code usually consists of a sequence of letters and numbers or numbers only and is usually appended to the end of an address,” she said.

The Deputy Post Mistress noted that it had become necessary to introduce the code because in many instances, direction had become dependent on word of mouth, the use of landmarks and casual location systems which over time, have become unreliable.

She described the St. Kitts and Nevis Postal Code as containing both numbers and letters. The country code KN represents St. Kitts and Nevis followed by four numbers. For example in the case of St. Kitts it would be KN0101 and for Nevis would be KN0802.

The following is a summary of the Postal Zones in St. Kitts and Nevis along with the Delivery Districts:
St. Kitts has six Postal Zones (identified by their six Post Offices)


01 – General Post Office with 11 Delivery Districts – KN0101 to KN0111
02 – Old Road Post Office with two Delivery Districts – KN0201 to KN0202
03 – Sandy Point Office with two Delivery Districts – KN0301 to KN0302
04 – Dieppe Bay Post Office with three Delivery Districts – KN0401 to KN0403
05 – Tabernacle Post Office with one Delivery District – KN0501
06 – Cayon Post Office with two Delivery District – KN0601 to KN0602

Areas that do not fall in any of the above KN7000 – Bird Rock Housing Development, Potato Bay Housing Development, Frigate Bay, South East Peninsula Development, Mattingly Heights, Half Moon Bay Housing Development – fall in the General Delivery category.

Nevis, however, has five Postal Zones (identified by the five Parishes)


08 – St. Paul’s Parish with two Delivery Districts – KN0801 to KN0802
09 – St. Johns Parish with two Delivery Districts – KN0901 to KN0902
10 – St. Georges Parish with two Delivery Districts – KN1001 to KN1002
11 – St. James Parish with two Delivery Districts – KN1101 to KN1102
12 – St. Thomas Parish with two Delivery Districts – KN1201 to KN1202

In all, St. Kitts has six Postal Zones, 21 Delivery Districts and one General Delivery District. Nevis has five Postal Zones and 10 Delivery Districts.

You might also like