Talented Youth Pageant participants officially launched

By: Gavincia Clarke

(CHARLESTOWN, NEVIS)- Organizers and members of the Talented Youth sub-committee staged the official launch and production for the Culturama 40 Talented Youth Pageant at Caribbean Cove on Sunday, July 13, 2014. Sixteen participants, representing eight primary schools on Nevis were introduced to the general public.

Executive Director, Mr. Antonio ‘Abonaty’ Liburd in his opening remarks stated that he was extremely proud to see the number of participants for C40. He thanked the principals and teachers of the various schools who were currently working hard with the contestants. He also used the opportunity to thank Ms. Bridget Hunkins for taking over the responsibility of the Talented Youth Pageant for C40. The Executive Director also saluted the patron for the event; Mrs. Shirley Wilkes, who was now taking a back seat for this year’s pageant, after having contributed to the pageant for over 20 years.

The participants took to the stage and ripped the runway in three segments, “Revelry, Splendor and Creativity.” The contestants hit the stage looking confident, sassy and dominant leaving the spectators wanting more.

Ms. Bridget Hunkins told this media house that since the launch on Sunday, she has received high praise from persons who were pleased with the production. She informed this publication that things are running smoothly as they prepare for the big show day.

Ms. Hunkins stated that she always wants her productions to be unique and her mission for this pageant is to put on a show for C40 that would blow the minds of the audience. She thanked members of the sub-committee and the teachers who are working diligently with her as they aim to make the pageant a resounding success.

In closing, Hunkins used the opportunity to invite everyone out to the Culturama Complex on Sunday, July 27, 2014 to witness ‘a show of a lifetime’.

The Talented Youth Participants are:

1. Nevis Academy: Oshana Edwards and Ayinde George- Sponsored by National Caribbean Insurance Co. Ltd.

2.  Maude Crosse Preparatory: Jeniah Tyson and Ammani Williams- Sponsored by RBTT Bank (SKN) Ltd.

3. Ivor Walters Primary School: Sharissa Williams and Jaheem Bartlett- Sponsored by Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC)

4. Elizabeth Pemberton Primary School: Jennessa Caines and Kishawn Hobson- Sponsored by Builders Paradise (St. Kitts) Ltd. and Lefco Equipment Rental Construction Company Ltd.

5.  Violet O. Jeffers Nichollas Primary School: Ajuma Liburd and Andrew Cozier- Sponsored by Nevis Air and Sea Ports Authority

6.  Joycelyn Liburd Primary School:  Vanessa Simon and Ryan Simon- Sponsored by Mobile Refrigeration & A.C Services

7.  St. Thomas Primary School: Shadiah Mitchell and Sakile Noland- Sponsored by Four Seasons Resort

8.  Charlestown Primary School- Vanessa Hull and Jadan Liburd- Sponsored by The Bank of Nevis Ltd.

 Clink link to see photos


You might also like