Thirteen Nevisian Men Hailed on International Men’s Day

Charlestown, Nevis -Tuesday 19th November, was a significant one in the lives of some hard-working men on Nevis.

On that day, the Gender Affairs Division of the Social Services Department, held a special awards ceremony at the popular Riviere House, situated on Government Road.  The ceremony was held under the theme: ‘Making a difference for men and boys.’

It was ably chaired by Mrs. Trecia Daniel and the invocation was eloquently delivered by Ms. Anesta Nisbett.  Gender Affairs Coordinator, Ms. Lorraine Archibald, gave the welcome remarks and then presentations were made to the thirteen specially selected men from varying backgrounds and professions.

Also delivering brief remarks, was Ag. Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Health, Mrs. Shelissa Martin-Clarke.  Prior to their receiving the awards, profiles were read by several individuals. This segment was coordinated by Mrs. Shelly Jones.

The following persons received awards:  Carl Tuckett; Leroy Parris Jr; Corporal Cleon Michael; Vincent Maynard; Chris Liburd; Roger Fyfield; Calvin Fahie; Brian Dyer; Devon Cornelius; Ravi Chowtipersaud; Leroy Chapman; Oral Brandy and Randolph Boddie.

Mr. Devon Cornelius gave the response on behalf of the awardees and the vote of thanks was done by Mrs. Shelly Jones.

You might also like