West Indies Captain Kieron Pollard Ruled Out of Pakistan Tour Due to Injury

The Cricket West Indies (CWI) Selection Panel has named the experienced Devon Thomas, as the replacement in the One-Day International (ODI) squad while allrounder Rovman Powell, is the replacement in the T20 International (T20I) squad.

Pollard will undergo rehabilitation work in Trinidad, under the supervision of CWI’s Chief Medical Officer, Dr. Israel Dowlat, and will be reassessed in a few weeks ahead of the upcoming home tours against Ireland and England in January 2022.

With Pollard ruled out, Nicholas Pooran will lead the team in the T20Is. He was stand-in Captain when West Indies beat Australia 4-1 in the five-match CG Insurance T20I Series in St. Lucia earlier this year. Shai Hope will Captain the team in the ODIs for the first time. Pooran is Vice Captain for the ODIs and Hope the Vice Captain for the T20Is.

The West Indies are due to play three T20Is and three ODIs at the Karachi National Stadium from December 13 to 22. The start times for the matches are T20Is at 6 pm local time (9 am Eastern Caribbean/8 am Jamaica) and the ODIs at 1 pm local time (4 am Eastern Caribbean/3 am Jamaica).

The ODI Series will be West Indies’ fourth series of 12 in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League in which the top seven teams can secure automatic qualification for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India. West Indies currently lie in the eighth position out of 13 teams and have the opportunity to move above Pakistan into the seventh position. The current ICC ODI Super League table standings can be found here


One-Day Internationals

Shai Hope (Captain)
Nicholas Pooran (Vice-Captain)
Darren Bravo
Shamarh Brooks
Roston Chase
Justin Greaves
Akeal Hosein
Alzarri Joseph
Gudakesh Motie
Anderson Phillip
Raymon Reifer
Romario Shepherd
Odean Smith
Devon Thomas
Hayden Walsh Jr.
T20 Internationals

Nicholas Pooran (Captain)
Shai Hope (Vice-Captain)
Darren Bravo
Roston Chase
Sheldon Cottrell
Dominic Drakes
Akeal Hosein
Brandon King
Kyle Mayers
Gudakesh Motie
Rovman Powell
Romario Shepherd
Odean Smith
Oshane Thomas
Hayden Walsh Jr.

December 13 – 1st T20I, Karachi
December 14 – 2nd T20I, Karachi
December 16 – 3rd T20I, Karachi
December 18 – 1st ODI, Karachi
December 20 – 2nd ODI, Karachi
December 22 – 3rd ODI, Karachi

You might also like