Youths of Nevis Take Third Spot In T-20 Tournament

Sunday, January 17, was the big day for the grand finals of the T-20 tournament, hosted by the Nevis Cricket Association, at the VOJN grounds.

Prior to the grand finals, Youths of Nevis engaged the Calypso Cricket Club for the coveted third spot.

Both captains appeared confident at the toss, as Captain Sharma for the Youths of Nevis, called correctly and elected to bat first.

Sharma himself went early, lbw to Thomas but that brought Javani Tyson to the crease.  Tyson proceeded to pummel the bowlers to all parts of the ground, before he was dubiously sent lbw, after what appeared to be a double sound into his pads.

Trishawn Francis, then took over the proceedings, aided in part by Delroy Cornelius and the Youths of Nevis managed a healthy total of 202, in their allotted 20 overs.

A lot depended on a great start form Captain Shevon Jeffers and Duan Webbe, as the Calypso men made their response, but this was not to be.  Marcus Dubbery batted virtually throughout the remainder of the innings to bring up a well-deserved fifty, but that was far from enough and the Calypso Cricket team, wilted at 116 for 5 when their 20 overs were completed.

Youths of Nevis, lifting the trophy and third place cheque at the presentation ceremony.

Summarized scores:

Youths of Nevis 202 for 4 from 20 overs: Trishawn Francis 77*; Javani Tyson 37; Delroy Cornelius 31; Malik Wallace 29*
L. Rawlins 2 for 22; Teron Webbe 1 for 22; Jeroame Thomas 1 for 52

Calypso Cricket 116 for 5 in 20 overs: Marcus Dubbery 55*; Duan Webbe 33; J. Chiverton 18
Malik Wallace 3 for 19; Kenny Persaud 1 for 11; Azeem Becarmajet 1 for 33

Youths of Nevis won by 86 runs

Man of the match-Trishawn Francis

You might also like