Antigua And Barbuda-2019 LIMCA Champions

They truly played like a champion team and despite several rain delays and the officials resorting to the Duckworth/Lewis method, in the final stage of the game, the home team-Antigua and Barbuda, took the championship trophy for the 2019 Leewards Masters’ Cricket tournament, in grand style.
The grand finals was played at All Saints and St. Thomas’ captain, Hamish Anthony, won the toss and elected to bat first.
A fantastic innings by Neil Lewis propelled the team to what looked initially like an insurmountable 183 for 3 in their 20 overs.
However, the home team was not backing down from a challenge.
They opened with Wilden Cornwall and Trish Phillip, who made their intentions clear from ball one.
After three overs, when there was an interruption by heavy rain, the home team had stormed to 40 for 1. Wilden Cornwall had made his contribution and walked back to the pavilion.
After a long delay and many debates, the officials decided that the home team would require 122 runs from 14 overs.
Sylvester Joseph, Trish Phillip and Harilall, then commenced a boundary hitting spree that truly entertained the huge crowd on hand.
When they all perished, the remaining batsmen did not have much work remaining and in fading light, the St. Thomas’ team, gave up the ghost with just about 8 runs remaining, thereby conceding the game and the winner’s trophy, to the home team.
Summarized scores: St. Thomas: 183 for 3 in 20 overs:
Neil Lewis 92*;
Earl Waldron 41
Cornwall, Joseph and Francis 1 wicket each

Antigua and Barbuda 161 for 4:
Sylvester Joseph 56;
Trish Phillip 38;
Harilall 28;
Wilden Cornwall 14
Waldron 2 wickets;
Meade and Haywood 1 each
Antigua and Barbuda won via the Duckworth/Lewis method

You might also like