Call to the Honourable Society of the Middle Temple

Press Release:- The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court is pleased to announce that Her Ladyship the Hon. Dame Janice M. Pereira, DBE, Chief Justice has been called to the Bench as an Honorary Bencher of the Honourable Society of the Middle Temple.

Dame Janice was called at a ceremony on Monday, March 26 in London.

The judicial officers, management, administrative and support staff of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court Headquarters and in each member state and territory extend warm and heartfelt congratulations to Her Ladyship on this honour.

Middle Temple’s membership comprises students, barristers and senior members of the Bar and Judiciary. The Honourable Society of the Middle Temple’s core purposes are based on these founding principles: The education and training of students and barristers; and the promotion of diversity and access to the Bar by the provision of financial support to students and all other means. The maintenance of the Inn’s estate and its historic heritage; and the provision of professional accommodation for barristers and other services and facilities in support of the Inn’s core purposes. The achievement of the highest standards of advocacy in support of the judiciary and the rule of law; the promotion of the ethos of the Bar; and the maintenance of the highest professional standards in the public interest.

The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC) was established in 1967 by the West Indies Associated States Supreme Court Order No. 223 of 1967. The ECSC is a superior court of record for the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS), including six Independent States: Antigua and Barbuda, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines; and three British Overseas Territories: Anguilla, The Virgin Islands, and Montserrat. The court has unlimited jurisdiction in each member state and territory.

You might also like