Cricket : Andy Flower and Kumar Sangakkara among 10 players inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

Ahead of the first-ever World Test Championship final, the ICC has inducted a special list of 10 players into its Hall of Fame.

From the Australian allrounder Monty Noble, who made his debut in January 1898, to Kumar Sangakkara, Sri Lanka batting great who retired in August 2015, these ten players’ careers span well over a century of men’s Test cricket.

The inductees have been classified into five broad eras: Noble and Aubrey Faulkner from the pre-World War 1 period (early era), Learie Constantine and Stan McCabe from the period between the two World Wars (inter-war era), Vinoo Mankad and Ted Dexter from 1946 to 1970 (post-war era), Bob Willis and Desmond Haynes from 1971 to 1995 (ODI era), and Andy Flower and Sangakkara from 1996 to 2015 (modern era).
Desmond Haynes in his response stated:

“As a young boy growing up in Barbados, I never dreamt that I would be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. I am very happy about this honour. This is also for my grandmother, mum, and wife, all of whom supported me in my journey.”

You might also like