Government of National Unity delivers on its promise of term limits for Prime Minister

Basseterre, St. Kitts, November 15, 2015 (SKNIS)—Tuesday’s sitting of the National Assembly (November 17) is set to witness history in its making when the Government of National Unity introduces legislation to have two five year terms for office of the prime minister.

In its campaign that lead up to the victorious February 16 General Elections, Team Unity promised to introduce term limits for the office of the prime minister.

The Honourable Vincent F. Byron Jr., Attorney General and Minister responsible for Justice and Legal Affairs, Elections and Communications, will seek leave to introduce and have read a first time Tenure of Office of Prime Minister Bill, 2015.

Part of the Bill reads “A person who is appointed Prime Minister under the Constitution shall, subject to subsection (2) of this section, hold office for a term of five years” and “A person shall not be appointed to hold office as Prime Minister for more than two terms as prescribed by this section.”

You might also like