Judging the Caribbean Court of Justice

Startlingly, eight of the ten Commonwealth countries that still cling to the Judicial Committee (JC) of the Privy Council as their final court of appeal are Caribbean Community (CARICOM) states.

Forty-three of the 52 remaining Commonwealth countries (not counting Britain) have long since left this hang-over from British colonialism. These countries include Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and India.

Rightly, most Commonwealth countries, which were tied to the JC of the Privy Council when they were colonies or dominions of Britain, see no good reason why their final appellate court should continue to be distant British persons, appointed by the British Prime Minister, whose legal knowledge and expertise, while good, are no better than judges of their own countries or regions.https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/09/14/judging-the-caribbean-court-of-justice/

You might also like