New High Court Law Term begins September 18; Chief Justice to deliver opening address in St. Kitts

By:Erasmus Williams

Basseterre, St. Kitts, September 14, 2018 – A Special Sitting of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court will be held in St. Kitts and Nevis on September 18, with the Ceremonial Opening to mark the start of the New Law Year 2018/2019.

Following the traditional church services, the legal fraternity, will march in processions to their respective High Courts, where the resident judges will take the salute and inspect an honour guard.

During the Special Sitting at the High Court in Basseterre,

, will deliver the Opening Address at 10:00 a.m. during simultaneous special sittings in the other Member States and Territories of the OECS – Anguilla, the Virgin Islands, Montserrat, Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, St. Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

Chief Justice Pereira, DBE and other members of the Court of Appeal are in St. Kitts for the scheduled first sitting of the New Law Year.

Chief Justice Her Ladyship, Dame Janice M. Pereira

The theme for the opening of the Law Year’s address is Challenges, Opportunities and Resilience: The ECSC paving the way to a Modern and Efficient Judiciary for the Eastern Caribbean

The Chief Justice’s address will be carried live via simulcast to the other Member States and Territories of the OECS and will also be broadcast throughout the region via the local media.

The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC) was established in 1967 by the West Indies Associated States Supreme Court Order No. 223 of 1967. The (ECSC) is a superior court of record for the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS), including six independent states: Antigua and Barbuda, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and three British Overseas Territories (Anguilla, British Virgin Islands, and Montserrat). It has unlimited jurisdiction in each member State.

You might also like