St. Kitts and Nevis bans poultry products from some states of the USA

(CHARLESTOWN, NEVIS)- The Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis has taken a similar pattern as Jamaica and imposed a temporary ban on the importation of poultry and poultry products from several states in the United States of America.

This action has been taken following reports of an outbreak of Bird Flu in Oregon. The list includes all poultry products, by-products and eggs and according to agriculture authorities; the ban is intended to safeguard the poultry industry, where more than 22 poultry farms would be at risk. The ban is expected to remain in effect for three months.

The restrictions cover the states of Kansas, Arkansas, Missouri, Minnesota, California, Idaho, Oregon and Washington and British Columbia in Canada.

Last week Jamaica imposed an immediate ban on the importation of poultry products from parts of North America arising from the outbreak of the disease.

Antigua and Barbuda is also expected to follow the positions adopted by the two CARICOM countries.

You might also like