Ten National Unity Government Ministers Sworn in; three Nevisians among them

(BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS) – Three Nevisians, Hon. Vance Amory, Hon. Mark Brantley and Senator Michael Perkins were among seven individuals who were sworn in last evening Sunday, February 22, 2015 as Ministers of the Government of National Unity of St. Kitts and Nevis.

cabinetThe Swearing in Ceremony took place at the Warner Park Stadium where thousands of supporters and dignitaries gathered to witness all the Ministers take the Oath of Allegiance and Office of Secrecy. The instruments of the appointments were signed and delivered to the Ministers by Governor General, His Excellency Sir Edmund Lawrence and the Oaths were administered by Resident Judge, Her Ladyship Justice Marlene Carter.

Among the dignitaries present at the Swearing in Ceremony were the first Prime Minister of St. Kitts- Nevis, Sir Kennedy Simmonds; Former Governors General, Sir Cuthbert Sebastian and Sir Probyn Inniss; Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda, Hon. Gaston Browne; Leader of the Opposition of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, the Hon. Arnhim Eustace; Deputy Prime Minister of Grenada, Hon. Elvin Nimrod; Hon. Alexis Jeffers, and Hon. Troy Liburd, Junior Minister in the Nevis Island Administration.

Dr. the Hon. Timothy Sylvester Harris was sworn as the third Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis. Dr. Harris was assigned the portfolios of Minister of Finance, Sustainable Development, National Security, People Empowerment and Constituency Empowerment.

Leader of the People’s Action Movement (PAM) Hon. Shawn Kenneth Richards was appointed as Deputy Prime Minister, and he now holds the Ministries of Education, Youth, Sports and Culture.

Premier of Nevis and the Parliamentary representative for Constituency Number 10 Hon. Vance Winkworth Amory was appointed Senior Minister of Nevis Affairs, Labour, Social Security and Ecclesiastical Affairs.

Deputy Premier and Deputy for Leader of Team Unity, Hon. Mark Anthony G. Brantley was assigned to Minister of Foreign Affairs and Aviation.

The third Nevisian to be sworn in was Anthony Michael Perkins. He was appointed Senator in the Federal Government. He was not assigned a portfolio.

PAM’s Deputy Leader and Parliamentary Representative for Constituency Number 8, Hon. Eugene Hamilton is now the person in charge of Minister of Agriculture, Health, National Health Insurance, Human Settlement, Gender Affairs, Community Development, Social Services, Cooperatives and Lands.

PAM’s representative for Constituency Number 1, Ian ‘Patches’ Liburd was assigned the portfolios of Minister of Public Infrastructure, Post, Urban Development and Transport.

Hon. Lindsay Fitzpatrick Grant was appointed as Minister of Tourism, International Trade, Industry and Commerce.

Senator Vincent Fitzgerald Byron was sworn in as the Federation’s Attorney General and Minster of Justice, Legal Affairs and Communications.

Senator Wendy Coleen Phipps was appointed as Minister of State with responsibility for Health, Community Development, Gender Affairs and Social Services.

The ceremony was chaired by Hon. Hazel Brandy-Williams Junior Minister in the Nevis Island Administration.

You might also like