Child Care Givers and Institutions Receive Awards for Work Done With Preschoolers

Charlestown-Nevis-An impressive ceremony, marked the climax of a very exciting CHILD MONTH of activities, hosted by the Education Department.
The awards ceremony and gala dinner, was held at the OCCASIONS on the evening of Saturday 22nd June.
The event was ably chaired by Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education, Mr. Kevin Barrett.
Preschool teacher Ms. Loretta Alphonse gave the invocation and Preschool teacher Ms. Rakijah Edinborough, rendered the national anthem and Education officer, Mrs. Dawny Lanns, gave welcoming remarks.
The featured address was delivered by Minster responsible for Education, Hon. Troy Liburd, who saluted the teachers and Caregivers for their tremendous work and sacrifice throughout the years.
He opined that teachers in Nevis ‘really dress nice,’ and promised to make the event an annual one.
He further promised to ensure that the teachers are comfortable and asked them to inform the Ministry for the tools and equipment that they require to get the job done.
Awards were then presented to deserving individuals and institutions as follows:
Pre Schools

Maude Cross-42 years

Charlestown Pre -36 years

Gingerland Pre-32 years

Inez France-27 years

Maude Smith -26 years

Vern N Llew 23 years

V& J’s Preschool-15 years

Naomi’s Day Care 20 years

Montessori Academy -10 years

Combermere Pre -6 years

Home based Nurseries

Marilyn’s Nusery-12 years

Patricia’s Nusery-14 years

V’s Caring Center-35 years

Precious Jewels-2 years

1, 2, 3 Sacred Hearts-29 years

Judy’s Nursery -20 years

Beverly’s Nursery 13 years

Ornette’s Nursery 36 years

Home away from home-7 years

Yelma’s Nursery -5 years

Sunbeams-2 years

Center Based Nurseries

Happy kids Nursery- 24 years

Little Stars Nursery-13 years

Steppin Stone Phase one-29 years

Steppin Stone Phase two-6 years

Service Awards—35 years and over

Jacinth Johnson; Vianna Stapleton-Powell; Vernitha Collins; Ornette Beaupierre and Viola Nicholas

20 years and over
Velona Claxton, Sharon Sutton-Ward, Christina Amory; Judith Dore-Jones, Tressy Maloney; Deslyn Wilkinson, Olive Jeffers, Leonie Patricia Dasent, Karen Herbert, Jacinth Mc Intosh, Pamela Elliot, Nelva Liburd, Shana Smithen, Dawny Lanns and Brenda Smithen-Williams

Longest serving Education Officer
Florence Liburd-Smithen

The evening concluded with a sumptuous dinner and appropriate music from the popular DJ Bulf.

You might also like