OAS-ITEN Technical Cooperation Missions on Education: Press Release

Representatives of the Ministries of Education of Antigua and Barbuda, Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines met last week, from May 12-15, to revise the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) Lower Secondary School Science and Technology Curriculum.

This team effort has also produced a policy draft on science and technology education to be implemented in the OECS region. Furthermore, an online repository of resources on science for teachers will be created, with the goal of facilitating knowledge exchange among science educators on the theme.

This initiative was sponsored by the Inter-American Teacher Education Network (ITEN) of the Organization of American States (OAS), under the framework of the OAS-ITEN Technical Cooperation Missions on Education.

Also, as a result of this cooperation, in the upcoming months, the OAS-ITEN together with the OECS Ministries of Education will be offering professional development for teachers in the region. These certified courses will be free of cost, and offered through an online platform and podcasts, with a focus on science and critical thinking.

For more information on OAS-ITEN programs please visit:

List of Participants of the Ministries
Amaala Muhammad – St. Vincent and the Grenadines
W. Anthony Spencer – Antigua and Barbuda
Shefton Liburd – St. Kitts and Nevis
Sheddie Conliffe – St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Motielall Singh – St. Lucia
Lyrill Arthur- Stanislaus – St. Lucia
Lloyd Panchoo – Grenada
Olston Strawn – St. Kitts and Nevis

OAS-ITEN Representatives
Adriana Vilela – ITEN Project Coordinator
Nathalia Khayat – ITEN Technical Missions Coordinator

You might also like