St. Thomas’ Primary-2019 Cricket Champs

The St. Thomas’ Primary School is the 2019 Primary School Cricket champions on Nevis.
This fact was established on Wednesday 10th July, at the ET Willet Park, where the grand finals of the Runako Morton/TDC Primary Schools’ Cricket tournament, took place.
The St. Thomas’ Primary engaged defending champions, Ivor Walters Primary and there was a sizeable crowd on hand to witness the event.
There was much pomp and ceremony for starters, as the two teams marched impressively onto the field, to the strains of the Windies anthem ‘Rally round the West indies.’
They then stood still for the national anthem of St. Kitts and Nevis and this was followed by an inspection of teams by a high level delegation, comprising of Hon. Eric Evelyn; Permanent Secretary Mr. Kevin Barrett; Ag. Director of Sports, Mr. Brian Dowe and TDC representative, Mr. Dio Hendrickson.
Immediately after that, the toss was spun and won by St. Thomas’ Primary who did not hesitate to bat first.
They were off to a great start with Tylo Nisbett and Javian Liburd batting impressively.
When Liburd departed, Adrian Williams joined Nisbett in an enterprising partnership which helped in the main, to get them to a more than competitive 104 in their 15 allotted overs.
When the Ivor Walters team responded, they lost an early wicket but Omari Jones and Lyte Browne, steadied the ship until Browne went caught at cover.
Kenroy Freeman threatened briefly to light the Park ablaze with his power hitting, but made the mistake to attempt a second run on a misfield.
An alert Isiah Saddler, pounced on the ball and with only one stump to hit, slammed a bull’s eye, with Freeman not making it, by a whisker.
Jones also went by the run out route and the fat lady eased quietly into the Park and told the choir to stand by.
The St. Thomas’ team completed the final rites and celebrated in a big way, because after all, they had defeated the defending champions of two consecutive years.
Summarized scores: St. Thomas’ Primary 104 for 4from 15 overs:
Tylo Nisbett 30;
Adrian Williams 28;
Javian Liburd 14
Omari Jones 1 for 12;
Lyte Browne 1 for 21;
Ethan Woolard 1 for 21

Ivor Walters 88 for 9 in 15 overs:
Omari Jones 26;
Lyte Browne 15
Isaiah Saddler 3 for 10;
Jaidan Amory 1 for 19;
Tylo Nisbett 1 for 21
St. Thomas’ Primary winning by 16 runs

You might also like