The Final Showdown: West Indies Aim to Topple Aussies in Series Decider

In the world of women’s cricket, moments don’t get bigger than this. The anticipation is palpable as the West Indies Women are set to face off against the Australia Women in the 3rd and final T20 International. With the series tantalizingly poised at 1-1, a showdown awaits at the Allan Border Field in Brisbane. Adding to the intrigue is the shift from North Sydney’s “delish” wicket, which was every batter’s dream, making the outcome of the series decider even more unpredictable.

The North Sydney Oval was nothing short of a run paradise. The wicket, playfully termed ‘delish’ by commentators, laid out a veritable buffet for the batters. Boundaries flowed, records tumbled, and fans were left in a euphoric daze. As the action now shifts to Brisbane, the conditions promise a new set of challenges. The sub-tropical climate, coupled with the unique pitch conditions at Allan Border Field, means that adaptability will be the key. How quickly the teams recalibrate their strategies to this change will potentially dictate the ebb and flow of the game.

For the West Indies Women, the stakes have never been higher. A series win here isn’t just another notch on the belt; it’s an opportunity to etch their names into the annals of cricketing history. Hayley Matthews, the talismanic West Indies captain and world-leading allrounder put it perfectly when she said:

“A win would instill a lot of confidence in the team and that’s exactly what we need.”
Matthews has been the star of the show in the two matches so far with scores of 99 not out in the opener and a memorable 132 to win the second encounter.

The first ball is at 4:05 am Eastern Caribbean Time/3:05 am Jamaica and fans can follow the score LIVE on

Match Schedule and Results

1 October: 1st T20I at North Sydney Oval, Sydney – Australia won by 8 wickets

2 October: 2nd T20I at North Sydney Oval, Sydney – West Indies won by 7 wickets

5 October: 3rd T20I at Allan Border Field, Brisbane – 6:05 pm local time (4:05 am Eastern Caribbean/3:05 am Jamaica)

8 October: 1st ODI at Allan Border Field, Brisbane – 9:35 am local time (6:35 pm October 7 Eastern Caribbean/5:35 pm Jamaica)

12 October: 2nd ODI at Junction Oval, Melbourne – 10:05 am local time (7:05 pm October 11 Eastern Caribbean/6:05 pm Jamaica)

14 October: 3rd ODI at Junction Oval, Melbourne – 10:05 am local time (7:05 pm October 13 Eastern Caribbean/6:05 pm Jamaica)

FULL SQUAD: Hayley Matthews (Captain), Shemaine Campbelle (Vice Captain), Aaliyah Alleyne, Shamilia Connell, Afy Fletcher, Cherry Ann Fraser, Shabika Gajnabi, Jannillea Glasgow, Chinelle Henry, Zaida James, Djenaba Joseph, Ashmini Munisar, Karishma Ramharack, Stafanie Taylor, Rashada Williams

Team Management: Shane Deitz (Head Coach), Sheena Gooding (Team Manager), Damien Wright (Assistant Coach), Ryan Austin (Assistant Coach), Tajay Grant (Physiotherapist), Antonia Burton (Strength and Conditioning Coach), Gary Belle (Performance Analyst), Dr. Nadine Sammy (Mental Skills Coach), Naasira Mohammed (Media Officer)

You might also like