Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court hosts 50th Anniversary Essay & Poster Competition Award Ceremony

ECSC Media Release

Wednesday, March 29, 2017 — In celebration of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court’s 50th Anniversary, the Court held an award ceremony for its Essay and Poster Competition dubbed “An evening with the Chief Justice.” The event gave Her Ladyship, Hon. Dame Janice M. Pereira DBE, Chief Justice, an opportunity to motivate and inspire children to think more clearly, see opportunities, and move forward in achieving their dreams.

The ceremony also provided an opportunity for Her Ladyship to speak directly to the students in attendance about a number of matters pertaining to the Court including the history of the Court, how the Court System works and the difference between the High Court and Court of Appeal in each Member State and Territory.

The following students were awarded:

Essay Competition results

Category 1
Winner- Ms. Ariel Albert- St. Joseph’s Convent Saint Lucia

Second Place- Ms. Dominique de Castro-Cedar International High School-Territory of the Virgin Island

Third Place- Ms. Giselle Bowers- Cedar International High School- Territory of the Virgin Island

Category 2
Winner- Ms. Khadijah Halliday- St. Josephs Convent-Saint Lucia

Second Place- Mr. Omar King- Saint Mary’s College-Saint Lucia

Poster Competition Results

Category 1
Ms. Jasmine Gilford- St. Augustine Catholic Primary- Montserrat

Mr. Jediah Hippolyte- Dame Pearlette Louisy Primary-Saint Lucia

Ms. Aulauni Andrew- St. Augustine Catholic Primary- Montserrat

Category 2
Mr. Ramiah Zuriel White- Brades Primary School -Montserrat

Ms. Alyssa Joseph- Bregado Flax Educational Centre Primary- Territory of the Virgin Island

Ms. Haylie Shai Kassie- St. Augustine Catholic Primary- Montserrat

The Ceremony was held on March 27, 2017 at the National Cultural Centre, Barnard Hill Castries, Saint Lucia. In attendance were Her Excellency Dame Pearlette Louisy, Governor General of Saint Lucia; Judicial Officers of the Court of Appeal and High Court; Staff of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court’s Headquarters; Members of the Public and Private Bar; Principals; Teachers; Parents and over 520 Students from Primary & Secondary Schools from Saint Lucia & Montserrat.

The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC) was established in 1967 by the West Indies Associated States Supreme Court Order No. 223 of 1967. The (ECSC) is a superior court of record for the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS), including six independent states: Antigua and Barbuda, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and three British Overseas Territories (Anguilla, British Virgin Islands, and Montserrat). The Court has unlimited jurisdiction in each member State.


You might also like