St. Thomas’ Primary-Primary School Football Champs 2018

The battle lines were well and truly drawn. After all, Friday 7th December, was D-day.

It was the grand final day of the Primary Schools Football championship 2018, at the ET Willet Park.

The tournament which was a collaborative effort between the Youth and Sports Department and the Ministry of Education, attracted quite some spectators, over the last few weeks and on the final day, the crowd did not disappoint.

The first game, played at 10.30 am, saw an intense struggle for third place, between the Charlestown Primary School and the Ivor Walters Primary School.
The Ivor Walters Primary prevailed, with a 1 goal to nil margin.

At 2.30 pm the grand finals between the defending champions, St. Thomas’ Primary and the Elizabeth Pemberton Primary, was played in front of a huge and enthusiastic crowd.
Almost at the half time whistle, EPPS managed to bomb one into the back of the net.
Coach Adelvin Phillip and his support crew, celebrated wildly.
Half time score was 1 goal to nil, in favour of the EPPS.

Whatever Coach Eddy Richards said at the break, worked immediate dividends, as St. Thomas’ Primary managed to sink home the equalizer, shortly after the resumption, much to the joy of their fans.

With just about five minutes to go, it seemed like the penalty kick offs would be inevitable but wait!

It was the dynamo, Adrian Williams, starring again, by sinking home goal number two for his team.
EPPS fought hard to equalize in the remaining moments of the game, but to no avail.

Final score: St. Thomas’ Primary 2 Elizabeth Pemberton Primary 1.

The game was viewed by Premier Mark Brantley; Hon Eric Evelyn and Hon Troy Liburd, who all played significant roles in the closing ceremony that followed.
During that ceremony, ably chaired by Deputy Director of Sports, Brian Dowe, Premier Brantley and Ministers Evelyn and Liburd, offered brief remarks and the following awards were presented:

Best goal keeper-T’Shawn Newton-CPS
Most Goals-Adrian Williams-St. Thomas’ primary -15 goals
Upcoming young player-Treyon Daniel-MCPS
Best defender-Kamal Brandy-EPPS
Fair play award-VOJN Primary
MVP of tournament-Adrian Williams-St. Thomas’

3rd placed team-Ivor Walters Primary
2nd placed team-EPPS
Champions-St. Thomas’ Primary
The schools were presented with the appropriate medals and trophies.
A Team of the season was also announced, which reflected the top players in various positions:
T’ Shawn Newton-CPS
Tyler Nisbett-St. Thomas’ primary
Anthony Archibald-Nevis Academy
Kamal Brandy-Elizabeth Pemberton
Keon Saddler-Elizabeth Pemberton
Ashley Parris-Joycelyn Liburd Primary
Jaheem Hazel Ivor Walters Primary
Adrian Williams-St. Thomas’ Primary
N’ziah Skeete-Charlestown Primary School

You might also like