Inter Primary Points Adjusted- CPS Remains Overall Champs

Meet Director for the 2019 edition of the Gulf Insurance Inter primary schools athletic meet, aka the MINI OLYMPICS, Mr. Garfield Virgo, on Tuesday, confirmed that there have been some minor changes to the point standings that were previously released, in connection with the meet.
According to Mr. Virgo, the reason for the discrepancies were due to the fact that ‘some athletes completed their races in wrong lanes or with wrong bib numbers or with wrong hip numbers, so that when they were assessed or judged on the line by the photo finish operator, they would have been placed incorrectly. That affected about three or four of the races. As a result, the points were adjusted.
The positions in the A zone remain the same but in the B zone, instead of the Maude Cross Preparatory School placing second, VOJN takes that spot.’
He also pointed out that due to the changes, even though the Charlestown Primary School remains the overall champions, second placed St. Thomas’ Primary, was able to close the points gap somewhat.
He was adamant that there was an improvement in the officiating, as there were a large scale errors last year and this year there were a much less errors.
In terms of the officials from Nevis, he indicated that Janita Matthews is the only trained official in Nevis.
St. Kitts has more trained officials.
He is however committing to ensuring that more officials are fully trained in Nevis so that they can be brought up to the required standards.
He also took the time to single out and applaud his technical committee for the tremendous work that they did in connection with this year’s meet.
The technical committee comprised of: Alsted Pemberton; Joseph Liburd; Shefton Liburd; Trecia Griffin; Carol Liburd-Ward, Raymond Smith and Mr. Virgo himself.
The points that were originally released were as follows:

Charlestown Primary- 218 points –Zone A champions and overall champions

St. Thomas’ Primary- 184 points

Joycelyn Liburd Primary- 138 points

Ivor Walters Primary- 131 points

Elizabeth Pemberton Primary- 69 points-B zone champions for 9th consecutive year

Maude Cross Preparatory – 52 points

VOJN Primary- 48 points

Nevis Academy 18 points

St. James’ Primary 15 points

The revised points are as follows:

Charlestown Primary-212 points-champions

St. Thomas’ Primary-193 points

Joycelyn Liburd Primary-141 points

Ivor Walters Primary-135 points

Elizabeth Pemberton Primary-59 points-Zone B champions

VOJN Primary-51 points

Maude Cross Preparatory -46 points

Nevis Academy -17 points

St. James’ Primary- 15 points

You might also like